Prairie Winds District

The District serves Scouts & Scouters in the counties of Boone, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Marshall, Story, and Tama.

District Committee

District Chair – Tom McCoy * Tmmcoy@financialguide.com * 641-751-2265

District Commissioner – Gareld (GP) Jones * jones.gareld@gmail.com * 515-298-0259

District Vice Chair of Communication – Christine Deam * mcdeam@outlook.com * 641-481-1975

Vice Chair Fundraising – Barry Romitti * barry.romitti@yahoo.com * 515-795-5071

Vice Chair Membership – Penny Soat * penny.soat@kregtool.com * 515-231-8092

Vice Chair Program – Jim Danks * danks@iowatelecom.net * 515-776-2404
- Activities – Paul Podhasky * pkpod@podhajsky.com * 641-754-3713
                          – Al Jergens * ajergens@iastate.edu * 515-460-1205
- Camp Promotion – Bill White * william.lee.white1@gmail.com * 515-975-5911
- Advancement & Recognition – Venka Seshappa * seshappa@gmail.com * 515-292-4793
- Training – Joe Leisz * josephmleisz@gmail.com * 515-291-4402

Professional Staff

District Director – Eric Thorsbakken * eric.thorsbakken@scouting.org * 515-954-5341

District Executive – Zach Tomesch * Zachary.tomesch@scouting.org * 515-802-5576

District Committee Meeting

7 pm, 1st Tuesday of every month, at the United Methodist Church in Colo, 602 4th St, Colo, IA 50056

District Commissioner Meeting

6:30 pm, Last Tuesday of every month, at City Church in Ames, 2400 Oakwood Road, Ames, IA 50014

District Roundtable

7 pm, 2nd Tuesday of every month except May and July, at City Church in Ames (2400 Oakwood Road, Ames, IA 50014). This provides unit leaders and Scout parents with “News, Knowledge, and Networking”. Get to know other leaders and swap ideas and best practices for an easier, more fun Scouting program - open to all.

File Name Description
Prairie Winds Mar-Apr 2017 Newsletter Download
Prairie Winds May-Jun 2017 Newsletter Download